100 Fitstagrams


In January of this year I set myself a target; to do 100 additional days of fitness/exercise outside of my Roller Derby training sessions, If you follow my Instagram you’ll be able to see my progress.

So I thought I’d write an update on how it’s been going and why I chose to do such an odd mission.

A while back I started a similar mission that I subtly called #100Henchdays – the goal for this one was to post every day for 100 days  on Instagram of my body to watch as it changed, while I attempted to do intense exercise for 100 days. Understandably I failed.

The reasons for the failure were mostly because the human body doesn’t change overnight, and if it does it’s not always for the better. It was one of my first attempts to try a  stupid mission to change my body  shape, when actually what should have been happening was me having a more positive relationship with my own body image.

That was in 2013, and now some 4 years on I get it. I’m not performing the task for vanity or to fulfill some ridiculous image I want to obtain, I’m doing 100, unlinked days of off-skates exercise in any form, be that running, weight training, cycling or walking in order to be better at my sport. Not for the look, not for the attraction of others, not for some unachievable goal but for myself to be better at a skill. To be stronger, fitter and more able to complete a task.

So yeah, I’m in the late 20’s now (day’s wise) I’ve set a small and achievable goal, and yes, there have been around 2 weeks where I did nothing extra (or derby related for that matter) as I was ill. But that’s not a bad thing – I don’t feel the need to punish myself, I only do activities I enjoy, and only when I feel able to.

It might not seem like a lot, but for me it’s a positive step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

